Kris Herman

Kris Herman

Board Member*

Kris Herman has been an instrumental figure in collegiate softball since beginning her coaching career at Tufts University in 1988. After Tufts, Herman came to Williams during the 2003-04 academic year.

On March 27, 2018, Herman reached the 700-win milestone in her career. Herman’s career mark stands at 767-388-5, a .662 winning percentage. She became the 17th coach at the Div. III level to surpass 700 wins in a career and is 12th on the active list.

She will be inducted into the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Hall of Fame in December 2020.

Over the past six seasons, Herman has guided her Ephs to four NESCAC West Division titles, three NESCAC championships and six straight trips into the NCAA Div. III Tournament. The Ephs hosted an NCAA Regional for the first time in program history in 2014 and repeated the feat in 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018. In 2017, Williams hosted a NCAA Super Regional for the first time and repeated that feat in 2018.

The 2019 team was Herman’s fourth to advance to the NCAA Div. III National Championships, joining the 2005, 2006 and 2017 squads. This team finished with a 1-2 record and a 5th place finish. The 2017 squad won two games in the championship round and finished tied for 3rd in the country, the Ephs best-finish ever.

Herman began her coaching career at her alma mater, Tufts, in 1988. She coached the Jumbos for 16 seasons and compiled a record of 339-164-3 (.679), winning five NESCAC titles and guiding her team to an NCAA Tournament appearance in her last seven seasons at the school. Tufts also made its first NCAA World Series appearance under Herman.

In 2004, Herman shifted to Williams, where she promptly led the Ephs to three straight NESCAC Championships (2004, 2005, 2006).

In her 33 seasons, Herman has coached 17 All Americans and 42 First Team All-New England players.

NESCAC Champions: 1991, ’93, 2001, ’02, ’03 (Tufts), ’04, ’05, ’06, ’16, ’17, ’18 (Williams)

NCAA participant: 1997-2006, 2014-2019;

NCAA World Series: 2000 (Tufts), 2005, 2006, T7th, 2017 (3rd), 2019 (T5th).

*Founding Member